Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Orquide'Art Mixed Media and Jewelry
13 mai 2018

Out of my comfort zone : my very first altered brush for Mixed Media World challenge

Hello everyone !

 

The trend in the Mixed Media world at the moment is to alter paintprushes. So I decided I would a) follow the trend, b) try new things and c) get out of my comfort zone.

I created this paintbrush for the challenge on the blog "Mixed Media World". The challenge of this month has a very nice moodboard with pretty colours in pinks and blue tones for inspiration. Follow the link

This has been a while I didn't participate to a challenge, and this is my first one with them, I am pretty excited ! I got inspired by the gate of the moodboard, the stones and the colours, obviously.

                                                                       

                                                                          MMW - CURRENT CHALLENGE

 

So I am gonna share with you today a very short pictures tutorial (this has been a while, right ?). Here it comes : 

First step : 

I assembled all my elements together and took a picture on how it was gonna look in order to glue everything in place.

IMG_20180512_113617_355

 

You will see that some elements are gonna disappear in the end. Which ones, in your opinion ?

 

Second step : 

I added some sand texture paste (Finnabair), glued everything (except the cabochons, because I needed to paint them) and painted everything with heavy black gesso from Finnabair. A few coats where necessary.

P_20180512_152804

 

Thirds step : 

I added some colour with Finnabair's wax Opal Magic in Turquoise satin. It was my first try with it, this is such a wonderful colour !

P_20180512_154247

 

Fourth step : 

I glued the painted cabochons.

P_20180512_154817

 

I painted them on top as well, with some "Ice Queen" acrylic paint by Finnabair (I added some on the brushes too) : 

P_20180512_155453

 

Fifth step, the extra-step that wasn't needed : 

I decided I would add glitter, so I first dipped my brush in Heavy gloss gel, then in glitter (pink and blue) and I added the glitter where I wanted. Wrong. It was waaaayyyyy too much.

What do you think ?

 

P_20180512_160207

 

Sixth step, the step to fix everything back : 

Because I thought the glitter was too much, I added (and this was my very first time with this product too, that's a lot of first times for a single project, right ?) some Prima Artisan Powder in Mesdames Merlot colour. I felt in love with this products. It adheres perfectly with the surface, and added kinda a rusty look to my embellishments...

Soooo...verdict time ? What do you guys think ? Don't hesitate to leave a comment !

P_20180512_164744

P_20180512_164757

P_20180512_164805

P_20180512_164812

P_20180512_164816

P_20180512_164822

See you soon with another project !

Audrey

 

 

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Orquide'Art Mixed Media and Jewelry
  • Hi everyone... I am a French Girl, living in the Netherlands... I love creating and sharing, so I will mainly speak about Art and Jewels but some others subjects can pop up occasionnally... Thank you for reading !
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
Archives
Newsletter
Visiteurs
Depuis la création 6 338
I design for

 

audreydtba

 

I follow...

 

download

SSS_Wednesday-Challenge-Blinkie-3

 

Publicité